Our Dzogchen lineages

Main lineages

Two main meditation practice cycles are taught in the Sky Dharma Community and form the path our sangha members follow. The first cycle is “The Primordial Space of Samantabhadra”, transmitted by Guru Rinpoche (Padmasambhava) and  contains teachings and practices from the level of an absolute beginner to the special inner teachings of Dzogchen. The second meditation cycle is the “Cycle of the All-pervading and Piercing Energy of the Dakinis”, transmitted through the blessing of Dorje Yudronma. Both transmissions are on the Dzogchen level, but contain elements which would traditionally be classified as Anu Yoga.

Method of transmission

Within our practice cycles there are different methods of transmission depending on the level and particular requirements of the teaching or practice in question. Generally however, apart from those methods which form the beginning stages of the path, the teachings and meditation practices from the inner advanced stages rely on a special method of transmission, and they can not be given to large groups of students. Unlike most Vajrayana systems which are nowadays transmitted by public initiations, these cycles have much more involved transmission requirements and can not be considered transmitted unless actual experience arises in the mind of the disciple. Teacher-disciple relationship is very important in this process and many transmissions are given privately.

O snail
Climb Mount Fuji
But slowly, slowly! 

― Kobayashi Issa